National Institutes of Health

Adverse Events of 5-alpha-reductase Inhibitors

The U.S. National Institutes of Health’s Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD) houses information on adverse events of 5-alpha-reductase inhibitors “to provide a list of resources where you can find more information about…post-finasteride syndrome. Studies are underway to understand the safety profile of 5-alpha reductase inhibitor drugs with respect to adverse events (sexual dysfunction, breast outcomes, and depression) and their permanency.”

For the latest information from NIH, click here.

 


Report Your Side Effects


Regulatory Agencies

Anyone suffering from persistent finasteride side effects is encouraged to report them to the appropriate agency.

 

Merck & Co., Inc.

Merck & Co., Inc. is the manufacturer of Propecia and Proscar.  To report an adverse experience with a Merck human health product, call the Merck National Service Center at (800)444-2080.

 

RxISK.org

In addition to agencies like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and World Health Organization, PFS patients are encouraged to report their persistent side effects to RxISK.org, a global, independent pharmacovigilance organization whose database is used by patients, doctors and pharmacists to research prescription drugs and their side effects, ideally to identify problems early on in the life of a drug.

 


Patient Support

 

Fellow PFS Patients

In September 2016, the PFS Foundation launched a program to connect PFS patients with one another for mutual support and sharing potentially helpful coping strategies. For more information, please access that announcement here.

 

Medical Professionals

The following doctors counsel PFS patients and their family members.  (If you would like to suggest adding a medical professional to this list, please email patient manager Philip Roberts at proberts@pfsfoundation.org)

Urology

Irwin Goldstein, MD
Director, Sexual Medicine
Alvarado Hospital
San Diego, CA, USA
dr.irwingoldstein@gmail.com

Keith Jarvi, MD
Head of Division of Urology
Mount Sinai Hospital
Toronto, Canada
kjarvi@mtsinai.on.ca

Yonah Krakowsky, MD
Division of Urology
Mt. Saini Hospital
Toronto, Canada
yonah.krakowsky@utoronto.ca

Charles J Ryan, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine and Urology
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, CA, USA
Author: The Virility Paradox
Charles.Ryan@ucsf.edu

David Ralph, MD
Consultant Urologist
University College London Hospital
London, UK
dralph@andrology.co.uk

Alexander Müller, MD
Urology Clinic
University Hospital of Zürich
Zürich, Switzerland
alex.mueller@usz.ch

Doris Mannhard, MD
University Hospital of Zürich
Zürich, Switzerland
doris.mannhard@usz.ch

Gert R. Dohle, MD
Department of Urology
Erasmus MC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
g.r.dohle@erasmusmc.nl

Dirk Michielsen, MD
Professor of Urology
Ziekenhuis University
Brussels, Belgium
dirk.michielsen@uzbrussel.be

Paul Gittens, MD
Philadelphia Center for Sexual Medicine
Bala Cynwyd, PA, USA
(610)668-8300

Rachel Rubin, MD
Urologist and Sexual Medicine Specialist
Washington, DC, USA
rrubin@jamesasimonmd.com

François Desgrandchamps, MD
Chief of Urology
Saint Louis Hospital
Paris, France
francois.desgrandchamps@sls.aphp.fr

Francois Haab, MD
Chief of Urology
Men’s Health Center
Paris, France
francois.haab@gmail.com

Eric de Bisschop, MD
Urological Surgeon
Aubagne, France
rajeshree@free.fr

Frank Sommer, MD
Urologist
Hamburg, Germany
sekretariat@maennergesundheit.info

Keong Tatt Foo, MD
Department of Urology
Singapore General Hospital
Singapore, Malaysia
foo.keong.tatt@sgh.com.sg

Trevor Thompson, MD
Lagan Valley Hospital
Belfast, Ireland
trevjthom@aol.com

Kim M. Drasa, MD
Professor of Urology
University of Medicine
Head of Department of Urology & Sexology
Central Polyclinic
President
Albanian Urologists & Sexologists Association
Tirana, Albania
kim.ausa@hotmail.com

Dermatology

Steven M Belknap, MD
Research Assistant Professor in Dermatology and Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Chicago, IL, USA
sbelknap@northwestern.edu

Ralph M Trüeb, MD
Center for Dermatology and Hair Diseases
Zürich, Switzerland
r.trueeb@derm-haarcenter.ch

Thomas Kuendig, MD
University Hospital of Zürich
Zürich, Switzerland
thomas.kuendig@usz.ch

Andreas Arnold, MD
Basel, Switzerland
Andreas.arnold@hin.ch

Jean-Luc Schmutz, MD
Department of Dermatology
Hospital Nancy-Brabois
Nancy, France
jl.schmutz@chru-nancy.fr

Néstor Carreño Orellana, MD
Department of Dermatology
Pontifical Catholic University
Santiago, Chile
(562)2354-8659
nestorcarreno@yahoo.es

Hoon Kang, MD
Department of Dermatology
The Catholic University of Korea
Seoul, Korea
johnkang@catholic.ac.kr

Pharmacology

Marco Bortolato, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology
College of Pharmacy
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
marco.bortolato@utah.edu

Jan Tytgat, PhD
Professor of Toxicology & Pharmacology
KU Leuven University
Leuven, Belgium
jan.tytgat@kuleuven.be

*Neetu Sharma, PhD
Department of Pharmacology
Government Medical College
Patiala, Punjab, India
neetu.cherry@gmail.com
*Not a health care provider.

Prof. Chukwu Amarauche, PhD
Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of Nigeria
University of Nigeria
amarauche.chukwu@unn.edu.ng
*Not a health care provider.

Pharmacovigilance

Bruno Toussaint, MD
Managing Editor
Prescrire
Paris, France
dr-b-toussaint@point-medical.fr

Endocrinology

Shalender Bhasin, MD
Director, Research Program in Men’s Health
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
sbhasin@partners.org

Michael Irwig, MD
George Washington University School of Medicine
Washington, DC, USA
propeciastudy@gmail.com

Eugene Shippen, MD
Shillington Diagnostic Center
Shillington, PA, USA
ershippen@comcast.net

Inga Wiegratz, MD
VivaNeo Kinderwunschpraxis Frankfurt
Frankfurt, Germany
inka.wiegratz@web.de

Karlis Ullis, MD
Santa Monica, CA, USA
kullismd@gmail.com

Sadeka Shahani, MD
Wellstar Medical Specialists
Marietta, GA, USA
sadeka.shahani@gmail.com

Jacques Young, MD
French Society of Endocrinology
Paris, France
jacques.young@aphp.fr

Olivier Chabre, MD
University Hospital of Grenoble
Grenoble, France
OlivierChabre@chu-grenoble.fr

Dirk Vanderschueren, MD
Clinical and Experimental Endocrinology
KU Leuven University
Leuven, Belgium
dirk.vanderschueren@kuleuven.be

Carmen Hurd, MD
Director
Endocrinology & Metabolism Subspecialty Training Program
University of Manitoba
Manitoba, Canada
chodnett@hsc.mb.ca

Neuroendocrinology

Michael A. Rogawski, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology and Pharmacology
University of California, Davis
Sacramento, CA, USA
rogawski@ucdavis.edu

Uwe Höller, MD
Medical Director
German Institute for Preventive Medicine
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
praxis@dr-hoeller.de

Alan Jacobs, MD
Director, Neuroendocrine Unit
New York-Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY, USA
email@alanjacobsmd.com

Mark L. Gordon, MD
The Millennium Wellness Center
Encino, CA, USA
gordonmd@millenniumhealthcenters.com

Andrology

Hervé LeJeune, MD
Professor of Biology and Reproductive Medicine
Claude-Bernard University
Lyon, France
herve.lejeune@chu-lyon.fr

Michael Zitzmann, MD
Center for Reproductive Medicine & Andrology
University of Munster
Munster, Germany
Michael.Zitzmann@ukmuenster.de

Amr Abdel Raheem, MD
St. Peter’s Andrology Centre
Institute of Urology
University College London Hospitals
London, UK
amr.raheem@nhs.net

Immunology

Gregoire Cozon, MD
Immunology Service Pavillon F
Edouard Herriot Hospital
69437 Lyon Cedex 03
France
Note: If you are a PFS patient wishing to schedule an appointment with Dr. Cozon you must first send, via snail mail to the address above, copies your lab tests performed within the past six months. After receiving and reviewing those tests, Dr. Cozon’s office will contact you for an appointment.

Gastroenterology

Leonard Leichus, MD
Tallahassee, FL, USA
lleichus@gmail.com

General Practice

Andrew Rynne, MD
Clane General Hospital
Kildare, Ireland
andrewrynne@eircom.net

Edmond O’Flaherty, MD
Bio Balance Centre
Dublin, Ireland
eoflaherty@gmail.com

Wesley Lindquist, MD
Internist
St. Cloud, MN, USA
LindquiW@gmail.com

Cosmetic Surgery

Ilhan Serdaroglu, MD
Aesthetic, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Istanbul, Turkey
info@ilhanserdaroglu.com

Integrative Medicine

Harlan Bieley, MD
Healthy Living and Longevity Medical Center
North Palm Beach, FL, USA
ask@hllmc.com

Greg Emerson, MD
Treat the Cause Clinic
Brisbane, Australia
info@drgregemerson.com

Louis Berthelot, MD
Paris, France
lc.berthelot@wanadoo.fr

BoDanielle Park, MD
Healthy Body and Soul
Suwanee, GA, USA
bodaniellepark@gmail.com
(470)266-1550

Obstetrics & Gynecology

P Ganesan Adaikan, PhD
National University Hospital
Singapore
obgadaik@nus.edu.sg

Psychotherapy

Peter M. Thompson, MD
Chief
Mood Disorders Research and Treatment Division
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
El Paso, TX, USA
CONTACT: Paulina Rodriguez
(915)215-5850

Matthew Bruhin, PhD
Matthew Bruhin & Associates
San Diego, CA, USA
drbruhin@matthewbruhin.com

Rose Hartzell, PhD
San Diego Sexual Medicine
San Diego, CA, USA
(619)265-8865
rhartzell@sdsm.info

Martin Berendt, PhD
Psychiatrist
Zug, Switzerland
praxisberendt@online.ms

Jessica Kostelnik, PhD
Department of Psychology
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA, USA
jao5j@virginia.edu

Beatriz Coca, PhD
Clinical Psychologist
Altadena, CA, USA
bcoca@charter.net

Christoph von Gierke, PhD
Psychotherapist
Frankfurt, Germany
info@von-gierke.eu

Luis Guilherme Streb, PhD
Staff Psychiatrist
Hospital Conceição
Porto Alegre, Brasil
lwstreb15@gmail.com

The doctors listed above are aware of post-finasteride syndrome and, in some cases, see or have seen patients in their own practices who are believed to have the condition. None of these health care professionals, however, professes to know the root cause(s) of PFS, nor claims to have a cure for the condition. Rather, they maintain an interest in helping PFS patients manage the condition as best as possible until clinical research, hopefully, leads to the development of effective therapies. Such management may include proper nutrition and exercise regimens, hormone therapy, and/or psychological/family counseling. The Post-Finasteride Syndrome Foundation is not a referral service for these or any other health care professionals, and itself does not claim to have any effective therapies for PFS.

 

Propeciahelp

Propeciahelp is a website and discussion forum for men suffering from persistent sexual, mental, physical and/or hormonal side effects of finasteride (Propecia, Proscar, generics).  If you are suffering from persistent finasteride side effects and need support, visit www.propeciahelp.com

PFS Global Support

PFS Global Support is a BlogTalkRadio podcast hosted by Nader Jawad, where PFS patients and medical professionals familiar with the condition share information and offer mutual support.

SolvePFS

SolvePFS is a forum for men suffering from persistent sexual, mental, physical and/or hormonal side effects of finasteride (Propecia, Proscar, generics). The site focuses on gathering the results of individual patients’ medical tests, as well as their anecdotal reports of therapies that may or may not be effective in treating post-finasteride syndrome. If you are suffering from PFS and would like to share information and thoughts on possible therapies, visit www.SolvePFS.com

French PFS Support Group

A PFS patient in France runs a PFS support group on Facebook for other French-speaking PFS patients and their family members, as well as medical professionals looking to connect with the PFS community.